Disney Princess Royal Status

Last updated September 23rd 2023

How many Disney Princesses were actually born a princess, and how many became a princess through marriage?

Most of the official 13 Disney Princesses were born royal. Snow White, Aurora, Ariel, Rapunzel and Merida are daughters of kings and queens. Jasmine is the daughter of the sultan and sultana of Agrabah. Raya is a warrior princess, daughter of the chief of the Heart Tribe. Only Belle (Prince Adam), Cinderella (Prince Charming) and Tiana (Prince Naveen) married into royalty.

What about Moana, Mulan and Pocahontas?

Moana herself disputes the idea of her being a princess when Maui insists that because she has a dress and an animal sidekick, she must be a princess. Both Moana and Pocahontas are the daughters of chiefs and not technically princesses. And even though Mulan, the daughter of a retired soldier, is also an official Disney Princess, she isn't royal by birth or marriage.

What about the non-official Disney princesses?

Although not included in the official lineup, Anna and Elsa (Frozen), Eilonwy (The Black Cauldron), Kida (Atlantis) and Vanellope (Wreck-it-Ralph) certainly qualify as princesses, and were all born royal.

Disney Princesses royalty status


Search Disneyclips.com