The Official Disney Animated Canon

Last updated July 21st 2023

A list of all the animated movies in the official Disney and Pixar canon in chronological order, with synopsis, cast info, pictures and more!

Disney animated canon

Walt Disney released its first feature-length animated film, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, in 1937. The movie was made using a technique known as cel animation, where characters were drawn on cels (transparent celluloid sheets) and superimposed on painted backgrounds. The last hand-drawn animated Disney movie was Winnie the Pooh in 2011.

The movies on the following list are part of the official Disney and Pixar animated canon: full-length movies produced by Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios, which feature predominantly digital or hand-drawn animation. As of June 2023, there are 61 animated movies in the official Disney canon, and 26 in the Pixar canon. Click any title below for more info.

For a full list of Disney and Pixar characters, see The Disney Alphabet from A to Z

The Disney Canon

RELATED: Top 10 Best Disney Movies

Pixar Features

RELATED: Top 10 Best Pixar Movies